Vitrine do Demo › Review › ProDentim
Review

ProDentim Review 2026: 3.5 Billion CFU Sitting on 20 mg of Proof

Three named probiotic strains, a 20 mg proprietary blend and a claim that your toothpaste is the enemy. We checked what the label discloses against what the trials actually used.

Advertising: Disclosure: this article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission — at no extra cost to you. It does not change the score or what is written here.

6.3/10

Quick verdict

A chewable oral probiotic built on one genuinely well-studied strain, wrapped in a 20 mg proprietary blend and sold with claims no trial supports — worth trying for gum comfort, not for the reasons the sales page gives.

  • 60-day refund
  • Sold only on the official site
  • $49 per bottle on the 6-pack
  • No trial on the finished formula

Who it is for: Adults with early gum inflammation, occasional bleeding when brushing and persistent bad breath, who already brush and floss and want to add a measured adjunct — not a replacement — to their routine.

Pros

  • Lactobacillus reuteri is the best-evidenced strain in oral probiotics, with 17 RCTs behind it and a 2020 meta-analysis
  • Chewable format keeps the strains in contact with gums and teeth — the right vehicle for an oral probiotic
  • Named strains rather than a vague "probiotic blend", plus non-GMO, gluten-free and stimulant-free

Cons

  • Per-strain CFU are not disclosed, so the dose for the one strain that matters cannot be verified
  • 20 mg for the whole blend means inulin, malic acid, tricalcium phosphate and peppermint are decorative amounts
  • No clinical trial on the finished formula, and the CFU count is "at manufacture"
Check official offer60-day money-back guarantee · official

Affiliate link · commission at no extra cost to you · 60-day money-back guarantee

The 30-second summary

  • Three named strains, one undisclosed split. The label says 3.5 billion CFU across L. paracasei, L. reuteri and B. lactis BL-04 — inside a 20 mg proprietary blend — without saying how much of each.
  • L. reuteri is the real evidence. Trials at 2–4 × 10⁸ CFU/day reduced plaque and gum bleeding in 2 to 12 weeks, and a 2020 meta-analysis of 17 RCTs found −0.36 mm pocket depth and −14% bleeding.
  • BL-04 is a respiratory strain, studied at 2 billion CFU/day for immune response to rhinovirus — not for teeth or gums.
  • The supporting nutrients are homeopathic-sized. 100 mg of inulin and a few milligrams of malic acid, tricalcium phosphate and peppermint cannot do what prebiotic and remineralisation studies describe.
  • Buy the 6-pack or skip it. $49 per bottle with free shipping and a 60-day refund at least makes the experiment cheap; $79 a bottle plus $9.99 shipping does not.
ProDentim

The problem you are trying to solve

The problem you are trying to solve is usually one of three things: your gums bleed a little when you brush, your breath is not what it was, or your dentist said "let's watch that pocket" and you would rather do something now.

The oral microbiome is a legitimate target. The mouth hosts hundreds of bacterial species, and dysbiosis — the shift toward inflammatory species — is associated with gingivitis and periodontitis. What follows from that is modest: probiotics can support the environment, and in the best trials they did so as an adjunct to professional cleaning, with effects measured in tenths of a millimetre and single-digit percentages.

What does not follow is the sales page's version, where toothpaste is toxic, teeth rot from chocolate while fossils survive for millennia, and a chewable tablet rebuilds your smile. Keep the two apart and the product becomes assessable on its own terms — which is what this review does.

Product facts

FormatSoft chewable tablet, one per day, chewed slowly in the morning
ManufacturerMarketed from the United States; GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility (as stated)
Active strainsLactobacillus paracasei, Lactobacillus reuteri, Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04
Total CFU3.5 billion per tablet, inside a 20 mg proprietary blend (per-strain split not disclosed)
Supporting nutrientsInulin 100 mg, malic acid, tricalcium phosphate, peppermint
Price$79 per bottle (2-bottle pack, $158) · $69 each for 3 · $49 each for 6 ($294)
ShippingFree on 3- and 6-bottle orders; $9.99 on the 2-bottle pack
Refund60 days, money back through the official site
Clinical trial on the finished formulaNone published

Plans and prices (official site)

PlanPriceCost per dayNote
2 bottles · 60-day supply $158 ($79 each) $2.63 / day Plus $9.99 shipping. The most expensive way to try it, and 60 days is the whole refund window. Check offer
3 bottles · 90-day supply $207 ($69 each) $2.30 / day Free shipping. Long enough to match the 8–12 weeks the gum trials ran. Check offer
6 bottles · 180-day supplybest value $294 ($49 each) $1.63 / day Free shipping, plus the three ebook bonuses. Best price per bottle — but 180 days of supply against a 60-day refund. Check offer

Prices, shipping and bonuses read on 30 October 2026 on the official site and can change without notice. The refund clock is 60 days from purchase regardless of which pack you buy — check the terms at checkout.

If you are going to test it, test it for eight weeks — that is roughly how long the gum trials ran before measuring plaque and bleeding.

Where to buy60-day money-back guarantee · official

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Lactobacillus reuteri is the best-evidenced strain in oral probiotics, with 17 RCTs behind it and a 2020 meta-analysis
  • Chewable format keeps the strains in contact with gums and teeth — the right vehicle for an oral probiotic
  • Named strains rather than a vague "probiotic blend", plus non-GMO, gluten-free and stimulant-free
  • 60-day refund applies to every pack, so a failed experiment costs you the shipping and the hassle, not the $294

Cons

  • Per-strain CFU are not disclosed, so the dose for the one strain that matters cannot be verified
  • 20 mg for the whole blend means inulin, malic acid, tricalcium phosphate and peppermint are decorative amounts
  • No clinical trial on the finished formula, and the CFU count is "at manufacture"
  • The whitening, remineralisation and "toothpaste is toxic" claims are not supported by the studies cited
  • 60-day refund is short next to the 8–12 weeks the gum trials needed
  • $79 a bottle plus shipping on the entry pack makes the first test the most expensive one

One detail before you decide: the 60-day refund applies to every pack, including the six bottles. Buy the pack that matches your budget, not the one the page pushes.

Where to buy60-day money-back guarantee · official

What the studies actually measured

Every positive trial behind these strains measured something small and specific: a gingival index, a plaque index, bleeding on probing, pocket depth in tenths of a millimetre, or volatile sulfur compounds in breath. None measured "oral health" as a feeling, and none showed a probiotic replacing professional treatment.

The L. reuteri trials are the strong part. Krasse 2006 saw gingival and plaque improvement in two weeks at 200 million CFU/day; Schlagenhauf 2020 saw bleeding, plaque and pocket depth improve over 42 days at 400 million CFU/day in sailors with limited oral hygiene; the 2020 meta-analysis of 17 RCTs put the pooled effect at −0.36 mm pocket depth and about −14% bleeding when added to scaling and root planing. Modest, real, reproducible.

The BL-04 evidence belongs to a different part of the body. Two billion CFU a day changed innate immune markers after a rhinovirus challenge, and a five-month trial found fewer upper-respiratory episodes. If you buy ProDentim for your gums, BL-04 is a passenger — not a reason.

And the L. paracasei evidence comes from fermented milk given to children, mostly in Thailand and Finland. Different strain, different vehicle, different population. Suggestive, not transferable.

The marketing you should ignore

The page opens with a "new scientific discovery" from Springer Nature about good bacteria in the mouth. That is an observational association dressed as a breakthrough, and it does not become evidence for this tablet by being linked.

Then it argues that toothpaste and mouthwash contain "toxic ingredients" that destroy the oral microbiome. Some mouthwashes do reduce oral bacteria, including the useful ones — that is a reason to choose your rinse, not a reason to stop brushing. Nothing here is an alternative to fluoride.

"95,000 reviews" with no source, three ebooks valued at $55–109 each, and a claim that 97% of customers buy six bottles are all sales-page furniture. They tell you about the offer, not the product.

What survives the sorting is narrow and still worth something: a well-studied strain, in a delivery format that makes sense for the mouth, at a price that is defensible on the six-pack.

How to test it in 60 days

Write down your baseline the day the bottle arrives: how often your gums bleed when you brush, on a 0–10 scale for breath, and whether your dentist has mentioned a pocket depth. Without a baseline, eight weeks of gradual change will feel like nothing.

Chew one tablet in the morning after brushing, and keep brushing and flossing exactly as before. Do not add a new mouthwash during the test — you will not know which change did what.

Re-read your baseline at week four and week eight. If bleeding has not changed by week eight, use the refund instead of hoping for month three; the trials that showed benefit were already showing it by then.

Book the hygiene appointment regardless. The strongest version of this product is the one used alongside scaling, not instead of it.

Formula: label dose vs. studied dose

The label discloses three strains and a total CFU count. It does not disclose the per-strain split, so the honest way to read this table is: the total is documented, the individual doses are not.

IngredientPer servingStudied doseAssessment
Lactobacillus reuteri Part of 20 mg / 3.5B CFU blend 2–4 × 10⁸ CFU/day (Krasse 2006; Schlagenhauf 2020) inside an undisclosed blend
Lactobacillus paracasei Part of the same 20 mg blend Strain-specific; trials used fermented milk, not a tablet inside an undisclosed blend
Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04 Part of the same 20 mg blend 2 × 10⁹ CFU/day (respiratory immune trials) below studied dose
Inulin (chicory root) 100 mg 3–10 g/day in prebiotic studies below studied dose
Malic acid (strawberry) Inside the 20 mg blend No whitening trial at any supplement dose no human evidence
Tricalcium phosphate Inside the 20 mg blend Remineralisation studies use toothpastes, not 20 mg tablets no human evidence
Peppermint Inside the 20 mg blend (flavour) No oral-health trial at this amount no human evidence

20 mg is the entire "proprietary blend" — probiotics plus minerals plus flavour. Even split three ways, that is roughly 6–7 mg of each nutrient, which is why the whitening and remineralisation claims cannot be carried by these amounts.

How each ingredient could act

Lactobacillus reuteri — Colonises soft tissue and produces reuterin, an antimicrobial compound; in trials it displaced plaque-forming species and reduced bleeding on probing when used alongside normal brushing.

Lactobacillus paracasei — Produces antimicrobial peptides that interfere with Streptococcus mutans adhesion to enamel — the mechanism behind the caries studies, mostly done with fermented milk in children.

Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04 — An immune-modulating strain: it changed the inflammatory response to a rhinovirus challenge in adults and reduced upper-respiratory illness episodes over five months. Nothing about teeth.

Inulin + chewable format — Inulin is meant to feed the strains you just introduced, and chewing keeps them in contact with gums and teeth before swallowing. The format is the most defensible idea in the product; the 100 mg of inulin is not.

What the evidence shows

Krasse et al. 2006, Swedish Dental Journal

L. reuteri at 2 × 10⁸ CFU/day reduced gingival index and plaque index versus placebo in adults with moderate to severe gingivitis.

Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled · n=59 · 2 weeks Limitation: Two weeks only, one of the two tested formulations did not beat placebo, and the product was a lozenge of a specific strain pair.
Schlagenhauf et al. 2020, Journal of Periodontology

Two lozenges daily (4 × 10⁸ CFU/day of L. reuteri DSM 17938 + ATCC PTA 5289) improved bleeding on probing, plaque and pocket depth versus placebo.

Randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled · n=72 · 42 days Limitation: Healthy adults with limited oral hygiene — not a periodontitis population; manufacturer-affiliated strain.
Martin-Cabezas et al. 2020, Journal of Clinical Periodontology (meta-analysis)

Adjunctive L. reuteri reduced probing pocket depth by 0.36 mm and bleeding on probing by about 14% when added to scaling and root planing.

17 randomised controlled trials pooled · n=pooled · 8–12 weeks typical Limitation: Small absolute effects, heterogeneous trials, and every study used professional cleaning as the base — the probiotic was never the treatment.
Keller et al. 2018 (halitosis)

L. reuteri reduced volatile sulfur compounds by roughly 42% versus baseline in people with bad breath.

Randomised controlled trial · n=small · 4 weeks Limitation: Breath is the easiest endpoint to move and the easiest to measure inconsistently; not replicated at scale.
Taipale et al. / Pahumunto et al. (L. paracasei SD1)

Daily L. paracasei in fermented milk lowered salivary S. mutans and, in high-risk children, reduced new caries lesions.

Randomised trials in preschool children · n=124 and 60+ · 3–6 months Limitation: A different strain, a dairy delivery format, and a population of children — none of which is a chewable tablet for adults.
West et al. and Cox et al. (B. lactis BL-04)

BL-04 at 2 × 10⁹ CFU/day modified innate immune markers after rhinovirus challenge and was associated with fewer upper-respiratory illness episodes.

Randomised, placebo-controlled challenge and 5-month trials · n=up to 144 · 1–5 months Limitation: This is the only strain here with a documented dose requirement — 2 billion CFU/day — and it is about airways, not gums.

Score by criterion

Label transparency5.5/10

Three strains are named, which is more than most competitors. But "20 mg proprietary blend / 3.5 billion CFU" hides the per-strain split, so you cannot verify the one number that matters for L. reuteri.

Dose vs. studied dose6.5/10

If the 3.5 billion were split evenly, each strain would get ~1.16 billion — above the 200–400 million used in the L. reuteri gum trials, below the 2 billion BL-04 needs. Nobody knows, and that is the problem.

Evidence on the finished formula4.0/10

No trial of ProDentim itself, only of single strains in other formats. The CFU count is "at time of manufacture", which tells you nothing about what is alive at month six.

Manufacturing and quality signals8.0/10

GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility, non-GMO, gluten-free, no stimulants. Standard for the category, and nothing on the label is exotic or alarming.

Value for money6.5/10

$49 per bottle on the six-pack is competitive for a probiotic; $79 per bottle on the two-pack plus $9.99 shipping is not, and that is the option the page makes look like the entry point.

Refund and support6.5/10

60 days is honest but short for a product whose evidence runs 8–12 weeks — the refund window closes around the time the trials would have produced their first reading.

Ease of use9.0/10

One tablet, chewed slowly, no water needed. The best thing about this product is how little it asks of you.

Claim honesty4.5/10

The page still argues that toothpaste and mouthwash are toxic, cites a Springer Nature paper as a discovery, shows "95,000 reviews" with no source and throws in three ebooks. None of that is evidence, and all of it costs credibility.

Final score = weighted average of the criteria above. The 6.3/10 is the average of these eight. The strain choice carries it; the undisclosed per-strain dose, the missing product trial and the marketing hold it back.

Who should not take it

  • If your gums bleed heavily, a tooth is loose, or you have pain when biting — that is periodontal disease and it needs a dentist, not a probiotic.
  • If you want whiter teeth. Malic acid in a 20 mg blend will not bleach enamel, and no trial says otherwise.
  • If you are looking for a replacement for toothpaste or mouthwash. Nothing in this formula cleans a tooth surface.
  • If you expect fresh breath within days and will judge the whole product on that. Breath response is the fastest signal here and the least durable.
  • If you are on a tight budget and currently do not floss. A box of floss and an electric toothbrush head will do more for your gums per dollar.
  • If you need a product with a trial on the finished formula. This one has none, and the honest alternative is to wait for one.

Contraindications and interactions

  • Not a substitute for brushing, flossing or professional cleaning — every positive trial used the probiotic as an add-on.
  • Immunocompromised people, or anyone with a central line or recent hospital stay: live probiotic strains carry a small but real risk of translocation — ask your doctor first.
  • If you are on antibiotics for a dental infection, the timing and the indication are a clinical question, not a supplement decision.
  • Children, pregnancy and breastfeeding: not studied for this product, so treat it as unproven rather than safe.
  • Stop if you develop mouth irritation, a rash, or gastrointestinal upset that does not settle within a few days.
  • Keep out of reach of young children — chewable tablets are a choking and overdose risk, and this one is flavoured like candy.

Alternatives we considered

AlternativeNote
A dedicated L. reuteri lozenge (BioGaia Prodentis type)Two specific strains (DSM 17938 + ATCC PTA 5289) at the doses actually used in the gum trials, with no proprietary blend. We earn nothing from this suggestion.
Bifidobacterium lactis HN019A different Bifidobacterium with placebo-controlled gingivitis data — closer to your gums than BL-04 is.
Xylitol gum or lozengesCheap, evidence-based for caries reduction, and it works by starving the bacteria rather than adding to them.
A dental hygiene appointmentThe only item in this table that removes the plaque the probiotic is supposed to compete with. Everything else is support.

No affiliate link — included for honesty.

How we tested

This review was built from the official product page and label claims, the published human trials behind each strain, the price and refund terms as written on the official site on 30 October 2026, and the price history of oral probiotic products in the same category.

  • We compared every disclosed amount with the dose actually used in the human trial that justifies the ingredient — and flagged what the label does not disclose instead of assuming it.
  • We ignored testimonials and before/after claims: with no trial on the finished formula, none of them can be verified.
  • We separated strain evidence from product evidence, and respiratory evidence from dental evidence, because the sales page merges all of it.
  • We bought nothing and received nothing from the manufacturer. The score is the average of the eight criteria above.
  • Prices, bonuses and refund terms were read on 30 October 2026 and can change — always confirm at checkout.
Methodology and sources: Krasse 2006 (Swed Dent J); Schlagenhauf 2020 (J Periodontol); Martin-Cabezas 2020 meta-analysis (J Clin Periodontol); Iniesta 2012; Keller 2018; Taipale/Pahumunto (L. paracasei SD1); West/Cox (B. lactis BL-04).
T Thyron EditorialReviews on this site compare label doses with trial doses. We buy nothing and receive nothing from manufacturers.
Last reviewed: October 30, 2026

Frequently asked questions

Does ProDentim really have 3.5 billion CFU?

That is what the label states, and it is measured at time of manufacture. The label does not say how the 3.5 billion are divided between the three strains, and it does not guarantee a live count at expiry — two limits worth knowing before you compare it with a product that does disclose both.

Can ProDentim replace toothpaste or mouthwash?

No. Nothing in the formula removes plaque mechanically, and no trial has tested a probiotic as a replacement for brushing. The studies that showed benefit used probiotics in addition to normal hygiene and, in the strongest trials, alongside professional cleaning.

Will it whiten my teeth?

There is no evidence for that. Malic acid from strawberries appears in a 20 mg blend along with everything else, and whitening studies use peroxide concentrations or abrasive toothpastes, not trace amounts of a fruit acid in a chewable tablet.

How long until I notice anything?

Breath changes are usually reported within two to four weeks. Measurable gum changes — bleeding, plaque index — appeared between two and twelve weeks in the trials, with most of the reliable readings around eight weeks. Give it eight weeks before judging, and keep a written baseline.

Is it safe with other medication?

The strains are ordinary food-grade probiotics, but live cultures are a real question if you are immunocompromised or have a central line. If you take antibiotics, are pregnant, or are being treated for gum disease, ask your dentist or doctor before starting — that is the same advice the manufacturer gives, and here it is not boilerplate.

How does the refund work?

The official site offers 60 days, money back, on any pack. Keep the order confirmation and note the purchase date: 60 days is shorter than the eight to twelve weeks the gum trials needed, so set a reminder at week seven to decide. Only orders placed on the official site are covered.

Where is the cheapest place to buy it?

The six-bottle pack at $294 ($49 each, free shipping) is the lowest price per bottle; the three-bottle pack at $207 ($69 each) is the shortest honest test; the two-bottle pack at $158 plus $9.99 shipping is the most expensive per day. All three carry the same 60-day refund.

Verdict

ProDentim is a reasonable way to try an oral probiotic, as long as you buy it for the boring reason: Lactobacillus reuteri has the best evidence in the category for bleeding gums and plaque, and a chewable tablet keeps the strain in your mouth instead of sending it to your stomach. It is not a toothpaste replacement, it will not whiten your teeth, and nobody has tested this exact formula. At $49 a bottle on the six-pack with a 60-day refund, the downside is limited. At $79 for two bottles plus shipping, it is an expensive experiment.

One last caveat: If you have active gum disease, a loose tooth, or bleeding that does not stop, this is a dentist appointment — not a supplement. Probiotics in the trials were used alongside scaling and root planing, never instead of it.

Check official offer60-day money-back guarantee · official

Affiliate link · commission at no extra cost to you · 60-day money-back guarantee

ProDentim · 6.3/10 From $49 per bottle · 60-day refund
Check official offer